Zionsville West Middle

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Please Create A Marquee
Search

Activities/Clubs/Intramurals

 
Interested in joining a club? Please contact the sponsor(s) for more info!
 
Club Fee: There is a one-time fee of $20 to join a club. The fee is good for any club throughout the year. Checks can be made payable to ZCS or you can pay online via schoolpay here: https://zcs.schoolpay.com/
 
**Note - Clubs through Eagle Rec do not pay the $20 club fee. Sign up through Eagle Rec**
 
 
Club Description Sponsor(s) Sponsor(s) Contact Info Grade Level
Student Athletic Leaders Focused on building leadership skills, SAL covers topics like sportsmanship and fear of failure and hosts several sports-related guest speakers throughout the year.
Dave Lang,
Andy Knueven
dlang@zcs.k12.in.us; aknueven@zcs.k12.in.us 7-8
Cross Country Club (Fall)   Darren Hale dhale@zcs.k12.in.us 5-6
Track Club (Spring)   Darren Hale dhale@zcs.k12.in.us 5-6
5th Grade Wrestling Club   Jared Williams jwilliams@zcs.k12.in.us 5
Aeries - Builders Club

The Aeries - Builders leader program collaborates with our local Kiwanis club to support community involvement and develop leadership skills. 

April Sanchez,
Leah Brough,
Michelle Rosenfeld, 
Jesse Winger
7-8
5-6th Grade Art Club 5-6th Art Club gives students who have a passion for Art more time to practice their skills and learn new processes while also giving them a chance to work together with other students who share their passion. Jeff Zurawski jzurawski@zcs.k12.in.us 5-6
7-8th Grade Art Club Any 7-8th grade student who is interested in art may join art club. Students will enjoy the process of creating, and be given ample opportunities to create art projects with a variety of mediums. Students will be able to make new friends, and expand on their talent and knowledge of art. Laruen Heath, Karen Brown lheath@zcs.k12.in.us; kbrown@zcs.k12.in.us 7-8
National Jr. Art Honor Society The NJAHS is designed specifically for students grades 6-8. Students must apply for membership and be accepted into the NJAHS program based on grades, leadership and citizenship.  The mission of the NJAHS is to further creative abilities and talents of members, to increase an awareness of art in relation to other areas of school curriculum, and to bring attention to art in the school and community.
Lauren Heath,
Karen Brown
lheath@zcs.k12.in.us; kbrown@zcs.k12.in.us 7-8
Swing Choir Swing Choir is an auditioned, extra curricular choir open to 7th & 8th grade students enrolled in Choir, Band, or Orchestra. Swing Choir performs all styles of music at winter and spring Choir Concerts, Jazz Café, in the community and where other opportunities arise. Andy Kistner akistner@zcs.k12.in.us 7-8
Tri-M Music Honor Society   Liz Leatherberry eleatherberry@zcs.k12.in.us 7-8
Rock Band   Andrew Steck asteck@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
Jazz Band   Andrew Steck asteck@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
Fiddler's Gathering   Jim Crismore jcrismore@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
Circle the State with Song “Circle the State With Song” is a choral concert made up of students from Boone Co. and surrounding areas singing a variety of styles  and led by a guest conductor. Primarily for students in 6th grade but may include others as needed. Interested students must sing on pitch, commit to learning and memorizing music, and exhibit appropriate behavior in class. Rehearsals will be before and after school. Andy Kistner akistner@zcs.k12.in.us 6th Grade
Winter Guard   Jeff King zband.jeffking@yahoo.com All Grades
ZIPP Cadet   Jeff King zband.jeffking@yahoo.com All Grades
Drama Club Gain a greater sense of self-confidence and better public speaking skills, while learning how to work as part of an ensemble, follow a timeline, use self-discipline, and accept constructive feedback. Members will have the opportunity to participate in the ZWest Musical as cast or crew. Julianne Boyd jboyd@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
Spectacular! Spectacular! A celebration of the arts! This variety show features student and teacher acts. Come sing, dance, rap, play an instrument, act out a skit, emcee, entertain us with your comedy, or show off any hidden talent. This variety show is open to all students and staff. Auditions and production details to be announced in the Spring.
Monica Soel,
Dawn Zerbe
msoel@zcs.k12.in.us; dzerbe@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
PLTW Club   Lori Cummings lcummings@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
Chess Club   Michael Johnson duffpawn2005@sbcglobal.net All Grades
Lego Club   Kristen Lee klee@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
Knitting Ninjas   Sarah Livengood slivengood@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
Yearbook Club   Diane Aurand, Cathy Sutton daurand@zcs.k12.in.us; csutton@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
Zeek Squad
**No club fee**
Zeek Squad is a student technology leadership program available in all ZCS schools. This year-long program meets every two weeks during homeroom. Students complete tech-based assignments, participate in the ZCS Technology Ambassador Program, and offer help to students and staff regarding technology challenges. Kyle Biemfor kbiemfor@zcs.k12.in.us   All Grades
GSA Club Student-led club intended to provide a safe and supportive environment, a sense of community, and a space for LGBTQ+ students, as well as their allies, to build a social network of respect. Everyone is welcome.
Monica Soel,
Ryan Batsie, 
Dawn Zerbe
All Grades
Culture Club Student-driven club focused on learning about the traits of culture. We will explore our personal culture, culture within our community, and the various cultures around the globe. Community and global service learning opportunities will also be a focus. Dawn Zerbe, Monica Soel dzerbe@zcs.k12.in.us; msoel@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
Student Council   Liz Ferrand lferrand@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
National Junior Honor Society NJHS is for 7-8th grade students with a 3.5 GPA or higher who apply for membership. NJHS members will maintain a high standard for academic excellence while participating in various leadership building and community service oriented activities. Stacey Behrens, Kelsey Cosier sbehrens@zcs.k12.in.us; kcosier@zcs.k12.in.us 7-8
Z'West Tween Library Council ZTLC members assist the Media Specialist in developing resources, services and events to fulfill students’ reading and information interests. A major focus is planning special activities to promote the Media Center and reading. Members receive training so they may assist in the circulation of material in the Media Center. Cathy Sutton csutton@zcs.k12.in.us All Grades
IN Academic Jr. Super Bowl Composed of English, Social Studies, Science, Math, and Interdisciplinary teams, Academic Jr. Super Bowl gives students in grades 6-8 the opportunity to study and extend knowledge within a subject beyond the classroom, guided by an annual theme. Subject teams consist of up to five students; interdisciplinary team may have up to seven students. The season culminates with a single competition among other schools.
Michelle Peltier, Kristy Pavlata, Jamey Gates,
Ellen Jenkins
6-8
5th & 6th Grade Quiz Bowl Have fun while doing a scholastic, team competition online in your classroom. Areas covered include math, geography, government, sports, spelling, science, literature, English, history, general information and just plain fun trivia. Open to students in 5th & 6th grade HA Humanities courses. Thinking Cap Quiz Bowl occurs each year in the spring. Announcements and practice times to be determined by the HA Humanities teachers.
Stephanie Barrientos,
Monica Soel,
Diane Aurand
daurand@zcs.k12.in.us; msoel@zcs.k12.in.us; sbarrientos@zcs.k12.in.us 5-6
Camups Life   Sean McCloskey smccloskey@ciyfc.org  All Grades