Activities/Clubs/Intramurals

 
Interested in joining a club? Please contact the sponsor(s) for more info!
 
Club Fee: There is a one-time fee of $20 to join a club. The fee is good for any club throughout the year. Checks can be made payable to ZCS or you can pay online via schoolpay here: https://zcs.schoolpay.com/
 
**Most clubs must pay the club fee. Those that do not are noted below.**
 
 
 

2019-20 Clubs and Intramurals

 

Club

Description

Sponsor(s)

Sponsor(s) Contact Info

Grade(s)

 

Aeries - Builders Club
**No club fee**

The Aeries - Builders leader program collaborates with our local Kiwanis club to support community involvement and develop leadership skills. 

April Sanchez
Leah Brough
Michelle Rosenfeld
Jesse Winger

asanchez@zcs.k12.in.us
lbrough@zcs.k12.in.us
mrosenfeld@zcs.k12.in.us
jwinger@zcs.k12.in.us

7-8

 
 
 
 

5-6th Grade Art Club

5-6th Art Club gives students who have a passion for Art more time to practice their skills and learn new processes while also giving them a chance to work together with other students who share their passion.

Jeff Zurawski

jzurawski@zcs.k12.in.us

5-6

 

7-8th Grade Art Club

Any 7-8th grade student who is interested in art may join art club. Students will enjoy the process of creating, and be given ample opportunities to create art projects with a variety of mediums. Students will be able to make new friends, and expand on their talent and knowledge of art.

Laruen Heath
Karen Brown

lheath@zcs.k12.in.us
kbrown@zcs.k12.in.us

7-8

 
 

Calligraphy Club

Calligraphy club for all skill levels!

Angie Miller

amiller@zcs.k12.in.us 

All Grades

 

Campus Life

A weekly gathering for young Christians interested in developing their faith and fellowship with other ZWMS students. All are welcome!

Sean McCloskey

smccloskey@ciyfc.org 

All Grades

 

Chess Club

Chess club for all skill levels!

Michael Johnson

duffpawn2005@sbcglobal.net

All Grades

 

Cross Country Club (Fall)

Distance running club for 5-6th graders looking for a less intense way to try out cross country.

Darren Hale

dhale@zcs.k12.in.us

5-6

 

Culture Club

Student-driven club focused on learning about the traits of culture. We will explore our personal culture, culture within our community, and the various cultures around the globe. Community and global service learning opportunities will also be a focus.

Dawn Zerbe

Stacy Bales

dzerbe@zcs.k12.in.us

sbales@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

Circle the State with Song

“Circle the State With Song” is a choral concert made up of students from Boone Co. and surrounding areas singing a variety of styles  and led by a guest conductor. Primarily for students in 6th grade but may include others as needed. Interested students must sing on pitch, commit to learning and memorizing music, and exhibit appropriate behavior in class. Rehearsals will be before and after school.

Andy Kistner

akistner@zcs.k12.in.us

6th Grade

 

D&D Club

Welcome adventurers! Put your fate in your hands and roll the dice with some friends at our weekly Dungeons and Dragons Club. All skill levels welcome and DMs are encouraged to join. Pre-generated characters will be available for new members.

Abby Patrick

apatrick@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

Developmental Golf

Open to 5th graders and 6-8th graders who are not selected for the competitive golf teams. Developmental golf will learn the basics of the game by meeting twice per week at Hickory Bend or the Zionsville Golf Practice Center. Girls takes place in the fall and boys in the spring.

Jeanne Brown (Girls)
Clay Hypes (Boys)

jeannelou.brown@gmail.com
chypes@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

Drama Club

Gain a greater sense of self-confidence and better public speaking skills, while learning how to work as part of an ensemble, follow a timeline, use self-discipline, and accept constructive feedback. Members will have the opportunity to participate in the ZWest Musical as cast or crew. Learn more here: https://sites.google.com/site/zwestdramaclub

Julianne Boyd

jboyd@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

Girls Who Code

Open to girls who are interested in learning about coding!

Lori Cummings

lcummings@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

GSA Club

Student-led club intended to provide a safe and supportive environment, a sense of community, and a space for LGBTQ+ students, as well as their allies, to build a social network of respect. Everyone is welcome.

Monica Soel
Ryan Batsie
Dawn Zerbe

msoel@zcs.k12.in.us
rbatsie@zcs.k12.in.us
dzerbe@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 
 
 

IN Academic Jr. Super Bowl

Composed of English, Social Studies, Science, Math, and Interdisciplinary teams, Academic Jr. Super Bowl gives students in grades 6-8 the opportunity to study and extend knowledge within a subject beyond the classroom, guided by an annual theme. Subject teams consist of up to five students; interdisciplinary team may have up to seven students. The season culminates with a single competition among other schools.

Kristy Pavlata
Ellen Jenkins
Michelle Peltier

kpavlata@zcs.k12.in.us
ejenkins@zcs.k12.in.us
mpeltier@zcs.k12.in.us

6-8

 
 
 
 

Jazz Band

Band club for advanced students interested in pushing themselves to learn more challenging music.

Candi Granlund

cgranlund@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

Lego Club
**No club fee**

LEGO Club meets during lunch on Fridays and it is free, with no club fees or memberships. Interested students pick up a pass from the lunch monitor each Friday. During LEGO Club, students eat lunch, build, play games, color, and/or just visit with friends. The only rule is “no screens” meaning no phones or laptops.

Kristen Lee

klee@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

National Jr. Art Honor Society

The NJAHS is designed specifically for students grades 6-8. Students must apply for membership and be accepted into the NJAHS program based on grades, leadership and citizenship.  The mission of the NJAHS is to further creative abilities and talents of members, to increase an awareness of art in relation to other areas of school curriculum, and to bring attention to art in the school and community.

Lauren Heath
Karen Brown

lheath@zcs.k12.in.us
kbrown@zcs.k12.in.us

7-8

 
 

National Junior Honor Society

NJHS is for 7-8th grade students with a 3.5 GPA or higher who apply for membership. NJHS members will maintain a high standard for academic excellence while participating in various leadership building and community service oriented activities.

Stacey Behrens
Kelsey Cosier

sbehrens@zcs.k12.in.us
kcosier@zcs.k12.in.us

7-8

 
 

Orchestra Club

 Orchestra club for advanced students interested in pushing themselves to learn more challenging music.

Jim Crismore

jcrismore@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

5-6th Grade Quiz Bowl

Have fun while doing a scholastic, team competition online in your classroom. Areas covered include math, geography, government, sports, spelling, science, literature, English, history, general information and just plain fun trivia. Open to students in 5th & 6th grade HA Humanities courses. Thinking Cap Quiz Bowl occurs each year in the spring. Announcements and practice times to be determined by the HA Humanities teachers.

Stephanie Barrientos
Monica Soel
Stacy Bales
Diane Aurand

sbarrientos@zcs.k12.in.us
msoel@zcs.k12.in.us
sbales@zcs.k12.in.us
daurand@zcs.k12.in.us

5-6

 
 
 
 

Robotics Club

Robotics club for 7-8th graders interested in building robots! 

Michael DeLand

mdeland@zcs.k12.in.us 

7-8

 

Rock Band

Band club focusing on pep style music performed at sporting events. Rock band has performed at Butler women's basketball and "Battle for the Nest" games between ZMS & ZWMS.

Candi Granlund

cgranlund@zcs.k12.in.us 

All Grades

 

Spectacular! Spectacular!

A celebration of the arts! This variety show features student and teacher acts. Come sing, dance, rap, play an instrument, act out a skit, emcee, entertain us with your comedy, or show off any hidden talent. This variety show is open to all students and staff. Auditions and production details to be announced in the Spring.

Monica Soel
Dawn Zerbe
Kara Gitskin

msoel@zcs.k12.in.us
dzerbe@zcs.k12.in.us
kgitskin@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 
 
 

Student Athletic Leaders

Focused on building leadership skills, SAL covers topics like sportsmanship and fear of failure and hosts several sports-related guest speakers throughout the year.

Dave Lang
Andy Knueven
Allison Manwell

dlang@zcs.k12.in.us
aknueven@zcs.k12.in.us
amanwell@zcs.k12.in.us

7-8

 
 
 

Student Council

As the representatives of our student body, Student Council focuses on bringing positive change to ZWMS through service and 

Liz Ferrand
Monica Soel

lferrand@zcs.k12.in.us
msoel@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

Swing Choir

Swing Choir is an auditioned, extra curricular choir open to 7th & 8th grade students enrolled in Choir, Band, or Orchestra. Swing Choir performs all styles of music at winter and spring Choir Concerts, Jazz Café, in the community and where other opportunities arise.

Andy Kistner

akistner@zcs.k12.in.us

7-8

 

Tae Kwon Do Club

Join Tae Kwon Do Club and start earning your way toward your black belt! All skill levels welcome!

Marc Mitalski

mmitalski@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

Track Club (Spring)

Track & Field club for 5th & 6th graders looking for a less intense way to try out various track & field events.

Darren Hale

dhale@zcs.k12.in.us

5-6

 

Tri-M Music Honor Society

Honor society for outstanding band students!

Liz Leatherberry

eleatherberry@zcs.k12.in.us

7-8

 

Volleyball Club

Volleyball club for 5th & 6th graders looking for an introduction to volleyball. This club is a great way to prepare for tryouts as a 7th grader and will include instruction from ZWMS coaches, admission to our home volleyball tournament in September and a t-shirt! 

Abby Akeright

aakeright@zcs.k12.in.us 

5-6

 

Winter Guard

Winter Guard is a pageantry activity that allows students to combine sport and art together in a competitive arena. Essentially, it is an indoor version of the flags, rifles and dancers that perform with the marching band in the summer/fall. It is a team sport in which everyone that joins will participate in every event. Pre-learned skills are not needed.

Jeff King

zband.jeffking@yahoo.com

All Grades

 

Yearbook Club

Interested in graphic design, photography and more? Yearbook club is for you!

Diane Aurand

daurand@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 

Yoga Club

Yoga club for all skill levels!

Sarah Livengood
Susan Burkle

slivengood@zcs.k12.in.us
sburkle@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades

 
 

Zeek Squad
**No club fee**

Zeek Squad is a student technology leadership program available in all ZCS schools. This year-long program meets every two weeks during homeroom. Students complete tech-based assignments, participate in the ZCS Technology Ambassador Program, and offer help to students and staff regarding technology challenges.

Kyle Beimfohr

kbeimfohr@zcs.k12.in.us

 All Grades

 
 

ZIP Cadet

ZIPcadet (Zionsville Indoor Percussion Cadet) is the younger sibling to the HS Indoor Percussion group.  It is a team sport in which everyone that joins will participate in every event.  Ideally, music experience (band, orchestra, piano and choir) is preferred. The group competes throughout the winter in the Indiana Percussion Association circuit. 

Jeff King

zband.jeffking@yahoo.com

6-8

 

Z'West Tween Library Council

ZTLC members assist the Media Specialist in developing resources, services and events to fulfill students’ reading and information interests. A major focus is planning special activities to promote the Media Center and reading. Members receive training so they may assist in the circulation of material in the Media Center.

Cathy Sutton

csutton@zcs.k12.in.us

All Grades