Zionsville West Middle

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Please Create A Marquee
Search
Teams/Schedules » Teams & Important Dates

Teams & Important Dates

Sports/Offerings: 
5th Grade
Running Club (contact Mr. Darren Hale - dhale@zcs.k12.in.us)
Wrestling Club through Eagle Rec (contact Mr. Jared Williams - jwilliams@zcs.k12.in.us)
Developmental Golf (Please see "Girls Golf" or "Boys Golf" sections below).
 
6-8th Grade
Wrestling, Cross Country, Tennis, Golf and Track & Field.
 
7-8th Grade
Volleyball, Boys/Girls Basketball, Softball, Football, Baseball, Boys/Girls Lacrosse and Cheerleading.
 
Fall Season at a Glance:
Cheerleading
Head Coach: Corie Metzler - cmetzler@umail.iu.edu 
Tryouts: Tryouts for Cheerleading are completed in April/May of the preceding school year.
Practices: Practices will take place every Monday during the season from 6-8pm in the North Gym.
 
Co-ed Cross Country
Head Coach: Kara Gongwer - gongwerskgba@att.net 
Summer Training: Optional summer training begins May 28 (see 100 mile calendar). First optional summer practice is June 12 @ Jennings Field from 8-9:15am. Bring your own water!
Practice: First official practice is August 2, 2018 @ 4pm (meet in the lobby inside Door #4). Practices will take place every weekday after school from 4-5:30pm.
Parent Meeting: August 10, 2018 @ 5:30pm in ZWMS LGI Room.
Girls Golf
Head Coach: Meredith Werne - meredith.werne@gmail.com 
Tryouts: Tryouts for girls golf will be on Monday, August 13th @ 4:30pm at Zionsville Golf Practice Center.
Practices: Practices will take place from 4:30-5:30pm every weekday at Zionsville Golf Course or Zionsville Practice Center. Transportation to practice is NOT provided by the school.
 
Developmental Team: Girls looking for a less rigorous introduction to golf will be given the opportunity to join the developmental golf team. 5th graders may also participate in developmental golf. Developmental golfers practice 2 days per week at the Zionsville practice center. Contact Girls Developmental Golf Coach, Jeanne Brown (jeannelou.brown@gmail.com), for more information.
 
Football
Head Coach (7th): Dwight Moser - dmoser@zcs.k12.in.us 
Head Coach (8th): Jim Stum - jstum77@aol.com
Call-out Meeting: The football call-out meeting will be on Thursday, May 17 in the LGI room from 8:10-8:30am.
Practices: 7th and 8th grade football teams will practice every weekday from 4-6:30pm during the season starting on August 30, 2018.
Parent Meeting: An informational meeting for football parents will take place on August 31, 2018 at ZWEST. Please enter through Door #4.
 
Boys Tennis
Head Coach: Tyler Witsken - tylerwitsken@gmail.com 
Call-out Meeting: The boys tennis call-out meeting will be on Thursday, August 9th in the LGI room from 4-4:30pm.
Tryouts: Tryouts for boys tennis will be on Friday, August 10th and Monday, August 13th from 4-5:30pm.
Practices: Boys Tennis will practice Monday-Thursday from 4-5:30pm at the ZWMS tennis courts.
 
Volleyball
Head Coach (7th): Abby Akeright - aakeright@zcs.k12.in.us
Head Coach (8th): Allison Manwell - amanwell@zcs.k12.in.us 
Tryouts: Tryouts will take place at ZWEST on August 9-10 from 4-6pm at ZWMS.
Practices: Practices will take place every weekday after school from 4-5:30pm at ZWMS.
 
Winter Season at a Glance:
Boys Basketball
Head Coach (7th): Dustin Coomes - dcoomes86@yahoo.com 
Head Coach (8th): Zack Loudenburg - ztloudenburg@yahoo.com 
Call-out meeting: September 28, 2018 at 4:00pm in the South Gym.
Tryouts: 7th grade: October 8-10, 5-7pm. 8th grade: October 9, 4-5:30pm & October 10th, 4-6pm
Practices: 7th grade: 5-7pm every weekday during the season. 8th grade 4-5:30pm every weekday during the season.
 
Girls Basketball
Head Coach (7th): Thad Keener - thad.keener@gmail.com 
Head Coach (8th): TBD
Call-out meeting: October 22, 6-6:30pm in West Hall
Open Gyms: Wednesdays (10/24, 11/7, 11/14, 11/21, 11/28, & 12/5) from 6-7:30pm.
Tryouts: December 12-14, 6-7:30pm
Practices: TBD
 
Wrestling
Head Coach: Andy Knueven - aknueven@zcs.k12.in.us 
Call-out meeting: October 10, 8:00am in Mr. Knueven's classroom (room 514).
Parent Meeting: December 7, 5:30-6pm in the LGI room.
Open Mats: Every Tuesday & Thursday in November (EXCEPT Nov. 15 & Nov. 22)
Practices: 4-5:30pm every weekday starting Dec. 4th in the wrestling room.
Spring Season at a Glance:
Baseball
Head Coach (7th): Zack Loudenburg - ztloudenburg@yahoo.com 
Head Coach (8th): Jamey Gates - jgates@zcs.k12.in.us 
Call-out meeting: TBD
Tryouts: TBD
Practices: Mon-Fri from 4-6pm during the season. Practices will usually be outdoors on the baseball field at ZWEST. In cases of bad weather, baseball will practice in the north gym from 4-6pm.
 
Boys Golf
Head Coach: TBD
Call-out meeting: TBD
Tryouts: TBD
Practices: TBD
 
Boys Lacrosse
Head Coach: Kevin Bianchi - kbianchi319@gmail.com
Call-out meeting: TBD
 
Girls Lacrosse
Head Coach: Molly McCue - molly.r.mccue@gmail.com 
Practices: TBD
 
Softball
Head Coach: Ashley Seering - ashleyseering@yahoo.com
Call-out Meeting: TBD
Practices: Softball will practice Monday-Thursday during the season from 4-6pm on the ZWEST softball field. In cases of bad weather, softball will practice in the north gym from 6-7:30pm.
 
Girls Tennis
Head Coach: TBD
Call-out Meeting: TBD
Practices: TBD
 
Co-ed Track & Field
Girls Head Coach: Dwight Moser - dmoser@zcs.k12.in.us
Boys Head Coach: Andy Knueven - aknueven@zcs.k12.in.us
Call-out Meeting: TBD
Practices: Every weekday during the season at ZWMS. In cases of bad weather, the track & field team will practice in the south gym from 4-5:30pm.