Zionsville West Middle

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Please Create A Marquee
Search
Teams/Schedules » Teams & Important Dates

Teams & Important Dates

Sports/Offerings: 
5th Grade
Running Club (contact Mr. Darren Hale - dhale@zcs.k12.in.us)
Wrestling Club (contact Mr. Jared Williams - jwilliams@zcs.k12.in.us)
Developmental Golf (Please see "Girls Golf" or "Boys Golf" sections below).
 
6-8th Grade
Wrestling, Cross Country, Tennis, Golf and Track & Field.
 
7-8th Grade
Volleyball, Boys/Girls Basketball, Softball, Football, Baseball, Boys/Girls Lacrosse and Cheerleading.
 
Fall Season at a Glance:
Cheerleading
Head Coach: Corie Metzler - cmetzler@umail.iu.edu 
Tryouts - Tryouts for Cheerleading are completed in April/May of the preceding school year.
Practices - Practices will take place every Monday during the season from 4:30-7:30pm at ZWMS.
 
Co-ed Cross Country
Head Coach: Kara Gongwer - gongwerskgba@att.net 
Practice - First practice is August 8, 2017 @ 4:00pm (meet in the lobby inside Door #4). Practices will take place every weekday after school from 4-5:30pm.
Parent Meeting - August 10, 2017 @ 5:30pm in ZWMS LGI Room
 
Girls Golf
Head Coach: Meredith Werne - meredith.werne@gmail.com 
Tryouts - Tryouts for girls golf are August 14-15, 2017 at the Zionsville Practice Center. 
Practices - Practices will take place from 4:30-5:30pm every weekday at Zionsville Golf Course or Zionsville Practice Center. Transportation to practice is NOT provided by the school.
 
Developmental Team - Girls who do not make the girls golf team will be given the opportunity to join the developmental golf team. 5th graders may also participate in developmental golf. Developmental golfers practice 2 days per week at the Zionsville practice center. Contact Girls Developmental Golf Coach, Jeanne Brown (jeannelou.brown@gmail.com), for more information.
 
Football
Head Coach (7th): Ryan Mantel - rmantel@zcs.k12.in.us 
Head Coach (8th): Jim Stum - jstum77@aol.com
Practice - First practice is July 31, 2017 from 4-6:30pm . Practices will take place from 4-6:30pm every weekday throughout the season at ZWMS.
 
Boys Tennis
Head Coach: Tyler Witsken - tylerwitsken@gmail.com 
Call-out Meeting - There will be a call-out meeting for boys tennis immediately after school at 4:00pm on August 9, 2017.
Tryouts - Tryouts will take place on August 10-14, 2017.
Practices - Boys Tennis will practice Monday-Thursday from 4-5:30pm at the ZWMS tennis courts.
 
Volleyball
Head Coach (7th): Abby Akeright - aakeright@zcs.k12.in.us
Head Coach (8th): Janelle McDonald - janellemcdonald818@gmail.com 
Tryouts - Tryouts for volleyball are August 9-11, 2017 from 4-6pm at ZWMS.
Practices - Practices will take place every weekday after school from 4-5:30pm at ZWMS.
 
Winter Season at a Glance:
Boys Basketball
Head Coach (7th): Dustin Coomes - dcoomes86@yahoo.com 
Head Coach (8th): Zack Loudenburg - ztloudenburg@yahoo.com 
Call-out meeting - There will be a call-out meeting for boys basketball immediately after school at 4:00pm on August 18, 2017 in the LGI Room at ZWEST.
Tryouts - 7th grade: 5:30-7:30pm on 10/9/17 and 5-7pm on 10/10/17. 8th grade: 4-5:30pm on 10/9/17 and 4-6pm on 10/10/17.
Parent Meeting: There will be a parent meeting for players who make the boys basketball team on October 13, 2017 at 5:30pm. Parents are strongly encouraged to attend.
Practices: 7th grade: 5-7pm every weekday during the season. 8th grade 4-5:30pm every weekday during the season.
 
Girls Basketball
Head Coach (7th): Thad Keener - thad.keener@gmail.com 
Head Coach (8th): Erin Hellman - erinhellman92@gmail.com 
Call-out meeting - There will be a call-out meeting for girls basketball at 5:30pm on October 23, 2017 in the LGI Room at ZWEST. Parents are welcome to attend.
Tryouts - December 7-8
Practices: Mon-Fri beginning on December 11, 2017. Practice times are TBD.
 
Wrestling
Head Coach: Andy Knueven - aknueven@zcs.k12.in.us 
Call-out meeting - There will be a call-out meeting for wrestling at 8:00am on October 26, 2017 in Mr. Knueven's room (Room 514). 
Practices: 4-5:30pm every weekday during the season in the wrestling room.
 
Spring Season at a Glance:
Baseball
Boys Golf
Boys Lacrosse
Girls Lacrosse
Softball
Girls Tennis
Co-ed Track & Field